call for participation registration submissions venue program accommodations supporting us

Call For Participation

Sponsored by Eurographics and ACM SIGGRAPH

4-5 August 2007, San Diego, California


Graphics Hardware is a highly visible, established international forum for exchanging experience and knowledge related to computer graphics hardware. The event, held annually since 1986, offers a unique perspective on graphics hardware by combining discussions and constructive critique of innovative concepts as well as product-level designs. It is an inclusive forum for the entire graphics hardware community and brings together researchers, engineers, and architects.

The program features two days of paper and industry presentations, with ample time for discussion during breaks, lunches, and the workshop banquet. This year's event will be held in San Diego, California, jointly with SIGGRAPH.

Our website is located at

Monday, April 9
  Deadline for paper submissions
(11:59 pm Pacific Daylight Time)
Thursday, May 10
  Notification of acceptance
Friday, May 18
  Camera-ready papers due
Saturday/Sunday, August 4-5

Papers Track
We invite high-quality, original papers on all aspects of computer graphics hardware describing either proven and tested solutions or novel ideas and concepts. Suggested topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Graphics accelerator architectures
  • Performance measurement, modelling, and optimization
  • Exploitation of new memory technologies for 3D graphics
  • Graphics for mobile devices
  • Integrated graphics chipsets
  • Hardware support for image-based rendering
  • Volume rendering architectures
  • Hardware support of new surface representations
  • Multi-processor architectures for graphics
  • Load balancing in graphics systems
  • Space, screen, and model partitioning
  • Software-hardware interfaces
  • Hardware accelerated rendering
  • Programmable graphics processors
  • Shading language implementation
  • Vertex, geometry, and pixel programming techniques
  • GPU-related compression/decompression techniques
  • Programming techniques for data-parallel problems
  • Hardware support for video processing
  • Novel display technologies
  • General Purpose GPU papers which meet all of:
    • - Graphics hardware is essential to the method
    • - New and non-obvious algorithmic changes are required to run on graphics hardware
    • - The algorithm is likely to influence GPU designs or have lasting value as GPUs change

Paper length:
There is no fixed maximum length for a paper. However, the magnitude of the contribution must be proportional to the length of the paper, and papers longer than eight typeset pages in the final Eurographics format must make a very significant contribution to get accepted. Papers of four or fewer pages will be held to a less strict standard of citation and description of related work (comparison to the strongest alternative techniques is still important, but an exhaustive review is not necessary). All accepted papers are treated equally, i.e., printed in the proceedings and presented at the conference.

Submission info:
Authors are invited to upload papers electronically in Adobe PDF format by visiting Submissions should follow the formatting guidelines on http:// We encourage anonymous submissions (in which the paper contains no identifying information) if possible.

Video sequences in QuickTime, MPEG or AVI format may be submitted using the electronic submission system.

For further questions please contact .

Hot 3D Systems Track
We invite vendors in the 3D industry to present their latest and greatest 3D chips or system designs. Presentations should be technical, rather than marketing, and should focus on real products (20 minutes). The deadline for Hot3D presentations is approximately six weeks before the workshop, allowing submission of late-breaking work.

Graphics Hardware 2007 will take place in San Diego, California, on Saturday and Sunday, 4-5 August 2007.

Please see our web page for details on registration, accommodation, and travel, as they become available. We will continue our tradition of a sumptuous banquet at a unique location.

The registration fee will include the workshop proceedings, banquet, coffee, and lunches. The workshop fee does not cover accommodations. Please see our website for full details on registration and accommodations.

Best Paper Award
An award of $500 will be given to the authors of the paper considered to be the outstanding paper presented at the event. The award is based on the accuracy, originality, and importance of the technical concept, the quality and readability of the manuscript, as well as the content and delivery of the verbal presentation. To qualify for this award, one or more of the principal authors must be enrolled at the workshop and present the paper. The winner will be chosen by the organizing committee based on audience feedback and will be announced at the end of the workshop.

Presenters and participants are invited to bring prototypes or products for demonstration at the event. Demonstrations will be held during breaks and before and after the sessions. We highly encourage paper authors and industry presenters to demonstrate their systems. Please contact the organizing committee by email at to arrange for space or electrical connections that may be required for your demonstration.


General Chairs:
David Luebke (NVIDIA, USA)
Michael Meissner (Vital Images, USA)
Nuno Subtil (NVIDIA, Portugal)

Papers Chairs:
Mark Segal (AMD, USA)
Timo Aila (NVIDIA, Finland)

Publicity Chair:
John Owens (UC Davis, USA)

Anselmo Lastra (University of North Carolina, USA)


Steering Committee:
Arie Kaufman (SUNY Stony Brook, USA)
Steve Molnar (NVIDIA, USA)
Bengt-Olaf Schneider (NVIDIA, USA)
Wolfgang Strasser (University of Tuebingen, Germany)

Paper Committee:
Kurt Akeley (Microsoft Research)
Tomas Akenine-Möller (Lund University)
Remi Arnaud (Sony Computer Entertainment)
Avi Bleiweiss (AMD)
Frank Crow (NVIDIA)
Mike Doggett (AMD)
Gordon Elder (AMD)
Thomas Ertl (University of Stuttgart)
Naga Govindaraju (Microsoft)
Stefan Guthe (NVIDIA)
Mark Harris (NVIDIA)
John Hart (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Justin Hensley (AMD)
Greg Humphreys (University of Virginia)
Zahid Hussain (S3 Graphics)
Konstantine Iourcha (AMD)
Jan Kautz (University College London)
Günter Knittel (University of Tübingen)
Fons Kuijk (Center for Mathematics and Computer Science, and CharToon Software)
Dinesh Manocha (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Bill Mark (UT Austin)
David McAllister (NVIDIA)
Michael McCool (University of Waterloo)
Jason Mitchell (Valve Software)
Steve Molnar (NVIDIA)
John Montrym (NVIDIA)
Henry Moreton (NVIDIA)
Petri Nordlund (AMD)
Marc Olano (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)
Timour Paltashev (S3 Graphics)
Matt Pharr (Neoptica)
Tim Purcell (NVIDIA)
Bengt-Olaf Schneider (NVIDIA)
Peter-Pike Sloan (Microsoft)
Marc Stamminger (University of Erlangen)
Jacob Ström (Ericsson)
Robert Strzodka (Stanford)
Michael Wimmer (TU Wien)
Craig Wittenbrink (NVIDIA)

For additional information send mail to .

downloadable pc gamesmahjongpuzzle gamesaction gamesbrain teaser gamestime management gamespc gameshidden objects games