Co-Sponsored by ACM SIGGRAPH and Eurographics (pending)

August 29 / 30, Grenoble, France

Graphics Hardware is a highly visible, established international forum for exchanging experience and knowledge related to computer graphics hardware. The event, held annually since 1986, offers a unique perspective on graphics hardware by combining discussions and constructive critique of innovative concepts as well as product-level designs. It is an inclusive forum for the entire graphics hardware community and brings together researchers, engineers, and architects.

The program features two days of paper and industry presentations, with ample time for discussion during breaks, lunches, and the workshop banquet. This year's event will be held in Grenoble, France, jointly with Eurographics 2004 and the Symposium for Computer Animation 2004.

Please visit our website at for more information.

April 8
  Deadline for abstract submissions
April 15, midnight Pacific Time
  Deadline for paper submissions
May 21
  Notification of acceptance
June 10
  Camera-ready papers due
July 15
  Deadline for Hot 3D systems abstracts
August 16
  Final Hot3D presentations due
August 29/30

Papers Track
We invite high-quality, original papers on all aspects of computer graphics hardware describing either proven and tested solutions or novel ideas and concepts.

  • Graphics accelerator architectures
  • Performance measurement, modelling, and optimization
  • Pixel operations and frame buffer techniques
  • Multi-processor architectures for graphics
  • Hardware support for image-based rendering
  • Load balancing in graphics systems
  • Expansion and acceleration of shading models
  • Volume rendering architectures
  • Space, screen, and model partitioning
  • Hardware support for photorealism
  • Exploitation of new memory technologies for 3D graphics
  • Vertex and pixel programming techniques
  • Programmable graphics processors
  • Shading language implementation
  • Software-hardware interfaces
  • Integrated graphics chipsets
  • Hardware support of new surface representations

    Papers describing "ports" of algorithms to run on a programmable graphics processor will only be considered if they employ a significantly new and non-obvious technique to make the best use of a graphics processors' architecture.

    Submission info:
    Authors are invited to upload papers electronically in Adobe PDF format by visiting Please limit the length to 8 typeset pages in final Eurographics format (preferred) or 16 double-spaced pages.

    If you would like to send video sequences in QuickTime, MPEG or AVI format, they can be submitted using the electronic submission system.

    For further questions please contact


Hot 3D Systems Track
We invite vendors in the 3D industry to present their latest and greatest 3D chips or system designs. Presentations should be technical, rather than marketing, and should focus on real products (20 minutes). The deadline for Hot3D presentations is approximately six weeks before the workshop, allowing submission of late-breaking work.

    Submission info:
    Contributors are invited to send abstracts for their Hot 3D Systems presentation to Final versions of the presentations are to be sent electronically, in Microsoft PowerPoint format, as an email attachment to the same address.

    Bound copies of the slides will be distributed to attendees, and presentation slides will be made available on the workshop web page after the workshop.

    For further questions please contact


Graphics Hardware 2004 will take place in Grenoble, France, on Sunday and Monday August 29-30, 2004. This event will overlap with the Symposium on Computer Animation on Sunday and with Eurographics 2004 on Monday. These three conferences will take place in the same convention centre.

Please see our web page for details on registration, accommodation, and travel, as they become available. We will continue our tradition of a sumptuous banquet at a unique location.


The registration fee will include the workshop proceedings, banquet, coffee, and lunches. The workshop fee does not cover accommodations. Please see our website for full details on registration and accommodations.


Best Paper Award
An award of $500 will be given to the authors of the paper considered to be the outstanding paper presented at the event . The award is based on the accuracy, originality, and importance of the technical concept, the quality and readability of the manuscript, as well as the content and delivery of the verbal presentation. To qualify for this award, one or more of the principal authors must be enrolled at the workshop and present the paper. The winner will be chosen by the organizing committee based on audience feedback and will be announced at the end of the workshop.


Presenters and participants are invited to bring prototypes or products for demonstration at the event. Demonstrations will be held during breaks and before and after the sessions. We highly encourage paper authors and industry presenters to demonstrate their systems. Please contact the organizing committee by email to arrange for space or electrical connections that may be required for your demonstration.


    General Chairs:
    Michael Doggett (ATI, USA)
    Anselmo Lastra (UNC, USA)

    Program Chairs:
    Mark Harris (NVIDIA, UK)
    David Luebke (University of Virginia, USA)

    Papers Chairs:
    Michael McCool (University of Waterloo, Canada)
    Tomas Akenine-Moller (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)

    Publicity Chair:
    Michael Meissner (Viatronix, USA)

    Local Arrangements Chair:
    Sylvain Lefebvre (INRIA, France)

    Steering Committee:
    Wolfgang Strasser (University of Tuebingen, Germany)
    Arie Kaufman (SUNY Stony Brook, USA)
    Steve Molnar (NVIDIA, USA)

 Paper Committee

    Timo Aila (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)
    Kurt Akeley (Stanford University and NVIDIA, USA)
    Remi Arnaud (SONY, USA)
    David Baldwin (3Dlabs, UK)
    Frank Crow (NVIDIA, USA)
    Thomas Ertl (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
    Pat Hanrahan (Stanford University, USA)
    John Hart (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA)
    Wolfgang Heidrich (University of British Columbia, Canada)
    Greg Humphreys (University of Virginia, USA)
    Jan Kautz (MIT, USA)
    Jim Kajiya (Microsoft, USA)
    David Kirk (NVIDIA, USA)
    Guenter Knittel (University of Tuebingen, Germany)
    Fons Kuijk (Epictoid, Netherlands)
    Tom Malzbender (Hewlett-Packard, USA)
    Dinesh Manocha (UNC, USA)
    Bill Mark (University of Texas, USA)
    John Montrym (NVIDIA, USA)
    Henry Moreton (NVIDIA, USA)
    Petri Nordlund (Bitboys, Finland)
    Marc Olano (University of Maryland (B.C.), USA)
    John Owens (University of California at Davis, USA)
    Timour Paltashev (S3 Graphics, USA)
    Ron Perry (MERL, USA)
    Frans Peters (Philips Research, Netherlands)
    Andreas Schilling (University of Tuebingen, Germany)
    Bengt-Olaf Schneider (NVIDIA, USA)
    Peter Schroeder (Caltech, USA)
    Larry Seiler (ATI, USA)
    Philipp Slusallek (Saarland University, Germany)
    Turner Whitted (Microsoft, USA)

For additional information see or send mail to