Sponsored by ACM SIGGRAPH and Eurographics
Los Angeles, California
Sunday and Monday, August 12-13, 2001

Graphics Hardware is a highly visible, established international forum for exchanging experience and knowledge related to computer graphics hardware. The workshop offers a unique perspective on graphics hardware by combining discussions and constructive critique of innovative concepts as well as product-level designs. The workshop is an inclusive forum for the entire graphics hardware community and brings together researchers, engineers, and architects. This year's workshop will be held in Los Angeles, California, jointly with SIGGRAPH 2001.

Please visit our website at or email


April 11

Deadline for paper submissions

May 7

Notification of acceptance

May 21

Camera-ready papers due

May 31

Deadline for hot 3D systems abstracts

June 29

Deadline for Hot 3D Systems final presentations

Aug 12-13


Traditional Papers Track
We invite high-quality, original papers on all aspects of computer graphics hardware describing either proven and tested solutions or novel ideas and concepts. Possible topics include:

  • Graphics accelerator architectures
  • Performance issues
  • Pixel operations and frame buffer techniques
  • Multi-processor architectures for graphics
  • Hardware support for image-based rendering
  • Load balancing in graphics systems
  • Expansion and acceleration of shading models
  • Volume rendering architectures
  • Space, screen, and model partitioning
  • Hardware support for photorealism
  • Media processors
  • Exploitation of new memory technologies for 3D graphics
Authors are invited to send papers electronically in Adobe PDF format by visiting Please limit the length to 8 typeset pages or 16 double-spaced pages. If electronic submission is not feasible, please send six copies of the paper to the address below.

If you would like to send videotapes to accompany the paper, please make six copies and mail them to the address below. An effort should be made to include the segment in both PAL and NTSC on the same VHS tape, to ensure that it can be seen by all reviewers.

Video sequences, in QuickTime or MPEG format, can be submitted on CD-ROM by sending six copies to the paper submission address or emailed to

Submission address:

Ulrich Neumann
University of Southern California
3737 Watt Way, PHE 404
Los Angeles, California, 90089

For further questions please contact .

Hot 3D Systems Track
We invite vendors in the 3D industry to present their latest and greatest 3D chips or system designs. Presentations should be technical, rather than marketing, and should focus on real products and their architecture and performance. Each presentation will last 20 minutes. Bound copies of the slides will be prepared for attendees, and presentation slides will be made available on the workshop web page after the workshop.

Contributors are invited to send abstracts for their Hot 3D Systems presentation to Peter Glaskowsky by May 31. Final versions of the presentations are to be sent electronically, in Microsoft PowerPoint format, as an email attachment by June 29. If electronic submission is not feasible, please send a hard copy of the slides to the address below.

Submission address:

Peter N. Glaskowsky
Cahners MicroDesign Resources
298 S. Sunnyvale Ave.
Suite #101
Sunnyvale, CA 94086

For further questions please contact

The Workshop
The workshop will take place in Los Angeles, California in the Wilshire Grand Hotel and Centre on Sunday and Monday of the week of SIGGRAPH 2001. The workshop will feature two full days of paper and industry presentations and invited talks. We will continue the workshop's tradition of a sumptuous banquet at a unique location.

    The registration fee (in US $) includes the workshop proceedings, banquet, coffee, and lunches. The workshop fee does not cover accommodations. Please see our website for full details on registration and accommodations.

    Best Paper Award
    An award of $500 will be given to the authors of the paper considered to be the outstanding paper presented at the workshop. The award is based on the accuracy, originality, and importance of the technical concept, the quality and readability of the manuscript, as well as the content and delivery of the verbal presentation. To qualify for this award, one or more of the principal authors must be enrolled at the workshop and present the paper. The winner will be chosen by the organizing committee based on audience feedback and will be announced at the end of the workshop.

    Presenters and workshop participants are invited to bring prototypes or products for demonstration at the workshop. Demonstrations will be held on Sunday and Monday during breaks and before and after workshop sessions. We highly encourage paper authors and industry presenters to demonstrate their systems at the workshop. Please contact the workshop chairs by email at to arrange for space or electrical connections that may be required for your demonstration.


    Workshop Chairs:
    Gunter Knittel - HP Labs Palo Alto
    Hanspeter Pfister - MERL

    Program Chairs:
    Anselmo Lastra - UNC Chapel Hill
    Steve Molnar - NVIDIA

    Papers Chairs:
    Kurt Akeley - SGI
    Ulrich Neumann - USC Los Angeles

    Hot 3D Chair:
    Peter N. Glaskowsky - Cahners MicroDesign Resources

    Local Arrangements Chair:
    Clint Chua - USC Los Angeles

    Publicity Chair:
    Michael Doggett - ATI, USA

    Steering Committee:
    Wolfgang Strasser - University of Tuebingen, Germany
    Arie Kaufmann - SUNY Stony Brook, USA

Program Committee

  • David Baldwin, 3Dlabs, UK
  • Gary Bishop, University of North Carolina, USA
  • Michael Cox, NVIDIA, USA
  • Frank Crow, NVIDIA, USA
  • Henry Fuchs, University of North Carolina, USA
  • Pat Hanrahan, Stanford University, USA
  • Wolfgang Heidrich, University of British Columbia, Canada
  • Dietmar Jackel, University of Rostock, Germany
  • Konstantine Iourcha, Via S3 Graphics, USA
  • David Kirk, NVIDIA, USA
  • Fred Kitson, HP Labs, USA
  • Fons Kuijk, CWI, Netherlands
  • Barthold Lichtenbelt, 3Dlabs, USA
  • Paul Lister, Sussex University, UK
  • Reinhard Maenner, University of Mannheim, Germany
  • Michael McCool, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Tom Malzbender, HP Labs, USA
  • Bill Mark, Stanford University, USA
  • Michael Meissner, University of Tuebingen, Germany
  • John Montrym, NVIDIA, USA
  • Marc Olano, SGI, USA
  • Ron Perry, MERL, USA
  • Frans Peters, Philips Research, Netherlands
  • Andreas Schilling, University of Tuebingen, Germany
  • Bengt-Olaf Schneider, NVIDIA, USA
  • Larry Seiler, ATI, USA
  • Gary Tarolli, NVIDIA, USA